lily style

Sister, Sister

Cowgirl boots + sunglasses 4eva
The above outfit, though not unusual for my fashion queen, was inspired by none other than…her baby sister! 

Offending baby shown here.

Kinley and I did a mini photo shoot for her six-months-old picture, and Lily, seeing the pretty, pink skirt her sister was wearing, insisted on “off the dress” and “on the pink skirt.” There was no way she was being upstaged by a baby. 

Lily is, though, a truly amazing big sister. Kinley loves watching her, and laughing with her, and Lily can’t pass her by without a hug and/or a kiss.

And in these sweet sister moments, you’ll often hear an “oh, so sweet baby!” or two.

Of course, like all toddlers and big sisters, she has issues with sharing–toys (the kind that are new to everyone, the hand-me-downs that used to be Lily’s, and especially Lily’s current toys), and books, and mommy. But especially daddy. 

It’s an oft-shouted rule that “daddy Wiky (Lily’s way of saying her own name)” and “mama baby!” And any attempt to deviate from this understanding is met with extreme emotion–even if mama is only getting Lily out of the van and bringing her to daddy.

Like I said, though, the girl does love her baby sister. 

When I load Lily into the stroller first, I often get a reminder that the baby is still in the van, and if anyone but mom or dad tries to hold Kinley, protests abound. 

She can try to be mad at the small thing that stole (some of) her thunder, but one look at her sweet face (and especially those cheeks) has her melting into “aww” or “sweet baby.” 

Kisses mid-photo shoot are also not uncommon.

Once Kinley’s on the move, though, I’m pretty sure all bets will be off. 

Until then, I’ll be soaking in the sweet sister moments!

4 thoughts on “Sister, Sister”

  1. Aww, how sweet!! What is their age difference? I have no idea what to expect from my youngest when her little bro/sis is born. She will be 19m old when s/he arrives.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My girls are about 19/20 months apart! I was terrified for how my oldest would react, but she completely surprised me and has been amazing!! I think at that age, they’re young enough not to be too fussy about it, but old enough to want to “help!” It’s been fun!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment