something to w(h)ine about

Secrets of the American Housewife

You guys, it’s hard to keep up with housework, right? I think we can all agree on that.

Between the daily chores like dishes and laundry and wiping surfaces, everything that goes into the general care and keeping of two babies, the shopping, the errands, the play dates, etc, things just fall through the cracks.

If it weren’t for my exemplary mommy skills, I’m pretty sure my husband would’ve fired me as a housewife by now. And I wouldn’t even be able to blame him.

I go weeks without sweeping or vacuuming (don’t judge), the baseboards remain (gasp!) hairy, bathrooms get the bare minimum treatment.

And then, inspiration strikes. I get the baby down for one, hour-long crib nap, and I’m suddenly the most efficient, most amazing mom boss. I do two loads of dishes; I sweep and mop every floor; I vacuum the living room; I write two blog posts; I clean out and wipe down the fridge; I rearrange the kitchen and dining room; I pick up and organize the living/play room.

I manage to do in one hour what I’ve been neglecting for weeks.

I’m on top of the world, and shouting my own praises to my husband as he drags himself in from a long day at work.

And, just the day before, I had accomplished nothing, apart from keeping the kids alive and relatively happy.

What I really want to say is this: sometimes we’re amazing, and sometimes we’re mediocre. And that’s okay. We know our strengths and work around our weaknesses. That’s all any of us can do.

So if you’re like me and you neglect the cleaning, or you cannot bring yourself to cook, or you just skip all the errands until they’ve piled up, or even if you lock yourself in the bathroom to hide from the kids/coworkers, I see you. I feel you. It’s all good.

You can be a boss again tomorrow.

[Don’t forget! I’m going LIVE on Facebook tonight (17 Aug)! Please join me!!]

signature

 

5 thoughts on “Secrets of the American Housewife”

  1. “sometimes weโ€™re amazing, and sometimes weโ€™re mediocre” – Wow, so true. And encouraging! I do as much as I can each day in the way of tidying and such but true, hard-core cleaning takes inspiration, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment